ARL Leadership

ARL Director: Dr. Ariel Stein

Dr. Stein standing in his office in front of a NOAA plaque and enlarged copy of an article that he authored

ARL’s Dr. Ariel Stein

Dr. Ariel Stein is currently ARL Director. Dr. Stein has extensive experience working with atmospheric transport, dispersion, and photochemical models. Previously, Ariel was a Supervisory Physical Scientist before becoming Acting Deputy Director of NOAA’s Air Resources Laboratory. Ariel has an in-depth understanding of hybrid dispersion modeling techniques including ARL’s HYSPLIT model. His research interests cover a wide range of topics dealing with atmospheric transport and dispersion modeling including the simulation of atmospheric tracer release experiments, radionuclides, smoke originated from wildfires, volcanic ash, and wind-blown dust. He has several peer-reviewed papers in these topics in prestigious international journals. He holds a B.Sc. in Chemistry from the University of Cordoba, Argentina, a M.Sc. in Environmental Pollution Control and PhD in Meteorology from Penn State University. 

ARL Deputy Director: Dr. LaToya Myles

Dr Latoya Myles, portrait of a black woman in white shirt.

Dr. LaToya Myles

Dr. Myles has a long career at NOAA as an environmental chemist. A magna cum laude graduate of Alcorn State University with a B.S. in chemistry and a B.S. in biology, she received her Ph.D. in environmental sciences from Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University where she conducted research with the NOAA Cooperative Science Centers (CSCs) and was awarded a fellowship from the Educational Partnership Program with Minority Serving Institutions (EPP/MSI).

Her scientific research has sought to improve understanding of the linkages between atmospheric chemistry and environmental change with a focus on observations of ammonia over coastal and agricultural ecosystems. She has demonstrated leadership of boundary layer R&D efforts, including observations and modeling of physical and chemical processes in the atmosphere, with programs in NOAA and in collaboration with partners from other federal agencies, universities, and the private sector. During her 20-year tenure at ARL, she has been a subject matter expert, invited speaker, and published author in surface-atmosphere exchange and biogeochemical cycling of reactive nitrogen. She is a graduate of OAR’s Leadership Effectiveness and Advancement Program (LEAP) and the NOAA Leadership Seminar.

Dr. Myles is also a strong advocate for diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility in the Earth sciences. As current chair of the AGU Honors and Recognition Committee, she works to expand and create new opportunities for the next generation of scientists and reach out to historically underrepresented communities. In 2023, she was elected to the AGU Council Leadership Team for 2023-2024, and will join the AGU Board of Directors.