# Awards, Honors, and Other Recognitions

The following material includes awards, honors and other recognition for ARL groups and individuals for their research, development, and/or application during the period 2016-2021.

Air Resources Laboratory - 2022 Lab Review

## Administrator's Awards

#### **Pius Lee**

## **Rick Saylor**

NOAA Administrator's Award for implementing and upgrading NOAA's Air Quality Forecasting Capability thereby improving the lives of Americans and saving billions of dollars per year. 2019

#### **Mark Cohen**

## **Rick Jiang**

NOAA Administrator's Award for Locust Forecasting App: Personal & Professional Excellence Category - 2020

## Medals

#### **Mark Cohen**

#### Winston Luke

2019 NOAA Bronze Medal - For sustained excellence in measurements and modeling leading to improved understanding of the emissions, transport, and fate of atmospheric mercury

#### **Ariel Stein**

2021 NOAA Bronze Award- For expeditiously and skillfully coordinating research that leveraged the unique scientific opportunity from the COVID-19 global pandemic

## **Rick Saylor**

2021 NOAA Bronze Award Scientific or Engineering Achievement for the development of the Global Ensemble Forecast System – Aerosols (GEFS-Aerosols) model to support air quality alerts and visibility forecasts.

## **Group Awards**

**Ariel Stein** 

**Barbara Stunder** 

Mark Cohen

Glenn Rolph

**Roland Draxler** 

The NOAA Technology Transfer Award – HYSPLIT NOAA

2017

**Ariel Stein** 

Glenn Rolph

**Barbara Stunder** 

**Mark Cohen** 

Fong (Fantine) Ngan

**Roland Draxler** 

Outstanding Scientific Paper Award NOAA/OAR

2018

**Barry Baker Mark Cohen Paul Kelley Pius Lee Chris Loughner** Winston Luke **Xinrong Ren** NASA Group Achievement Award for their work as members of the Ozone Water-Land Environmental Transition Study (OWLETS) team. 2018 **Xinrong Ren** NASA Group Achievement Award for ACT-America NASA 2020 **Individual Awards Patrick Campbell** NOAA Certificate of Commendation National Air Quality Forecasting Capability (NAQFC) 2020 Leah Hopson (Lapenta) MSCAR Outstanding Undergraduate Presentation (Lapenta Internship) **Tiffany House** 2018 NOAA Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO)/Diversity Individual Award **Hyun Cheol Kim** South Korean Ministry of Environment Commendation: Contributions to South Korean air quality research (June 4, **Ricky Lantrip** 2018 Secretary's Appreciation Award (Source Physics Experiments - Phase I) DOE LaToya Myles 2017 NOAA Center Champions Workshop Group award NOAA EPP 2016 Distinguished Alumna, Florida A&M Univ, School of the Environment **Walter Schalk** Secretary's Appreciation Award (Source Physics Experiments – Phase I), DOE 2018 Sub-Committee of the Year Award, Chair, DOE Meteorological Sub-Committee, DOE Emergency Management Issues Committee - Special Interest Groups 2021 **Fred Shen** Employee of the Month, ERT, Inc June 2019 **Barbara Shifflett** "Exceptional" rating for 2019 Delegated Procurement Review, NOAA 2019 James Wood

Secretary's Appreciation Award (Source Physics Experiments – Phase I) DOE

Employee of the Month, ERT, Inc

Annual Distinguished Achievement Awards, ERT, Inc.

Sonny Zinn

2018

2020

Nov 2020